White stringy feces...GC works but Prazi doesn't. What is it?

Sylvester

Sorry for making a new post but i need some fresh advice. I have 2 designer clowns i have been battling to keep alive for the past 3 months after losing 3 clowns prior. Long story short.... after about 3 weeks fish stop eating, get lethargic, heavy breathing begins and fish dies in about a week with no other symptoms. After the addition of two designer clowns i had the same symptoms 3 weeks in. This time i was prepared. I put them in QT and dosed API general cure. Within hours fish started to look normal and eat. It was very fast. I put fish back in DT after 2 weeks of GC treatment in QT. 3 weeks later... same problem. This time i left tank fallow for 30 days since at this point i assumed gill flukes or internal infection. I put fish back in DT 30 days later. 3 weeks after in the DT ... same problem. Fish not eating and lethargic. This time i dosed the display with Prazi... 2 days later no improvement and large fish has white stringy poo. I moved fish immediately to QT and dosed GC again. Fish seem to be much better but the one that had the stringy poo is still not eating. Any other treatment ideas?

20190506_085808.jpg

Humblefish

Prazi only treats external + intestinal worms, while GC contains both prazi + metro. The latter treats internal flagellates (basically velvet on the inside), and if your clownfish is getting better with GC odds are he has these internal flagellates.

Dosing the water helps because fish drink the medication; however to completely eliminate this problem you are going to have to start soaking his food with GC. My recipe for food soaking medications can be found below:

Using a shot glass:
1 scoop (~ 1/8 teaspoon) of medication
1 scoop Seachem Focus (this makes it reef safe)
1 tbsp food (preferably pellets or frozen food)
A pinch of Epsom salt to help expel dead worms/parasites
A few drops of saltwater or fish vitamins