white algea? white specs or tiny bubbles? please help

kimbertent

I am quite new at this hobby and have two questions. My tank has been up and running for only about 7 weeks now. Recently though I have noticed white algea appearing in my tank. In one spot it seems like it is overtaking my purple algea. I was wondering what this means? If it is bad or if it is good? I was trying to search through the other posts and i found that this may be something to do with the calcium? I was not aware that you had to be very concious about calcium if it is only a FOWLR?

I also have begun to see little white specs maybe reallllly tiny bubbles..practically microscopic floating around in the water. I was wondering if anyone knew anything about that also?

Please comment back because I usually dont get any responses. :)

salinity 1.023
temp 78
nitrAtes 0
nitrItes 0
ph 8.3
ammonia 0
white light 11am-10pm
blue light 10am-11pm

i have a 72 gallon bowfront. i inherited this tank from a family member. i dont know when the lights were last changed nor do i know type they are even.

i have:
1 percula clown
1 coral beauty
3 chromis
1 anthias
1 fighting conch
3 camel shrimp
1 sea slug

Woodstock

The Wand Geek was here. ;)
RS STAFF
Hummm.. extremely difficult to know without seeing them. Are they hard spots or can they be blown off easily?

They could be:
  • Dying coralline algae - coralline turns white when it dies but usually on the edges. Lack of calcium, or exposure to air for a long time could cause this.
  • Calcium precipitation - adding supplements such as alk or ca in too high or unproportioned amount can cause a calcium snow storm. This will leave grey/white hard calcium deposits everywhere in your tank.
  • Tiny filter feeders - it could be tiny, tiny white spiral feather dusters or tiny,tiny white barnical type animals. Both harmless filter feeders.

Woodstock

RS STAFF