Trigger FOWLR Build Ideas Welcome

Gooey

Hi All. I'm a noob and need some help. I want to build a FOWLR around a Humu Rectangle Triggerfish (Rhinecanthus rectangulus) (snorkeled with them all the time when I was stationed in Hawaii). I know that I want a tank built around this species, and I want to do it right.

My understanding is that they are slow growers, so if bought a juvenile around 2", it might be 6-7 years before they need more than 70 gallons. But of course, ultimately, they might need upwards of 180 gallons. So I'm trying to balance not buying way more than I need but also not putting myself in a situation where I need to upgrade right away. I would like to put off dealing with an upgrade for at least 5 years, if not 10. I would want to have a few other fish that will get along with the trigger, but it's not critical. The bottom line is that if I get one of these guys, I want to husband it properly.

I want a sumped system because this is going in the living room and I'm trying to keep the wife happy. She hates the traditional ugly oak stands, and I definitely want to get the skimmer, heater, top off, etc in the sump. So I'm looking for an neat and attractive setup.

Please give me your size and equipment recommendations to include how you would do the filtration. I'm a noob, so while I understand the basics, I'm not totally clear on what type of tank and setup would be optimal. (Rimless or braced, drilled or not drilled, corner or center overflows, standard tank or custom, etc.) I need a bit of handholding here and I welcome any and all recommendations, to include recommended build outs. Thank you!

DaveK

Humu Rectangle Triggers are a fascinating fish and are full of surprises. They are almost like having a puppy, except it limited by the tank. They are extremely hardy too, and will eat anything. That's the good news.