theories of water changes.

Blackness

A fellow employee and I have this conversation at work numerous times. He is anal with his water changes( almost weekly) and I on the other hand what you call lazy( i'm not though). I've tried doing weekly changes and i've noticed in my tank that my coral grow better when I do change evey 2-3 months. Before every one goes crazy tell me all the reasons for doing more frequent changes I know them all. I work in a lfs, I hear them every day. I rarely have any mishappening but i'm not perfect. I've been doing this for 5-6 years now. Wondering if there was anyone at there that does the same but was too afraid to admit because of ridiculing people. I tell customers when they venture into reef tanks or even saltwater tanks for the first time, " a fish tank is a hobby not a picture on a wall, if you want a beautiful picture buy a picture but if you want a piece living art buy a fish tank." There is nothing worse than a unkept tank.

Witfull

when i had the 72bowfront i did less waterchanges but higher %. 25gallons or so. now that i have a 210, i do more frequent but smaller changes. funny thing is, its still appx 25 gallons...lol

i do frequent small changes in my 125 just out of ease. I evaporate apx 2 gallons per day so it is just as easy to replace 5 as it is 2. i run 2 r/o at night
one into an empty 5 gallon bucket. the other into another 5 gallon bucket
both fill up over night. a third bucket is my makeup. i always have 5 gallons of makeup, and 5 gallons of fresh r/o. every day i take out 3 gallons plus the 2 gallons that evaporate. i put in 2 gallons fresh r/o and 3 gallons make-up

i am doing a 3 gallon water change daily 20+ gallons per week apx 20% weekly change. takes me about 10 min per day and seems to work for me

Woodstock

The Wand Geek was here. ;)
RS STAFF
First off, ridiculing reefers are not allowed in RS :D