Tank Journal - 135 FOWLR

chipmunkofdoom2

I would cure it separately if you can. I got a huge 50lb piece of dry dead rock from my friend and broke it up into still pretty hefty pieces and found all sorts of dead sponges and detritus caught inside the nooks and crannies. If you cure it separately, there's no chance ammonia will get into the display.

Floyd R Turbo

RS Sponsor
Seventh cleaning 1/17/10

Did a gravel vac of the areas I could get to, which wasn’t done since 12/28/09, and a coat of algae has formed over the top that was exactly like it was before, adhered to the gravel and thick enough where it wouldn’t get sucked up the vac tube. I guess I am going to have to hurry up and get him some snails and hermits, or stir the gravel a couple times a week.

I will also admit something kinda stupid on my part, especially since I’m an engineer and should be able to calculate volume pretty easily. The tank is not a 135, it’s a 125 Long. 72x18x20. I don’t know where I came up with 135. I figured it out when I was calculating how much water to remove. Here’s how I do that, in case anyone is interested:

1 cubic foot of water = 7.5 gallons (7.48, but who cares).
1 cu ft = 1728 cu in
Inside dimensions of125L is 71-1/4 x 17-1/4.
Overflows are 7” on a side, ¼ round, so 2 of them I just called 7x7, when you subtract that off the interior, it’s about 1180 sq in.
1728 / 1180 = 1.46 in (= 7.5g).
So removing 80 gallons would be 80 / 7.5 = 10.66 cu ft, or 18432 cu in.
18432 / 1180 = 15.6 inches.