Sump?

Tosh_Auer

Hi for those of you who i have not spoken to in my last thread i am only new to SW aquariums and was wondering is a sump basically just an enclosed container full of water in which you can stick things such as protein skimmers, heaters, and other equipment or is there a theory behind it?

ReefLady

Staff member
is a sump basically just an enclosed container full of water in which you can stick things such as protein skimmers, heaters, and other equipment or is there a theory behind it?
That's pretty much what it is. A sump basically serves a few purposes (IMO):

A place to put equipment out of sight, as you mentioned above.

Increased water volume (allowing for more stable water parameters)

An place to keep additional LR for bio-filtration

Also, having a good "return pump" between the sump & display allows for needed water turnover, exhange, current, flow, gas exchange, etc.

Our sump is a 100g Rubbermaid stock tank directly below the display in our basement. We affectionately refer to it as "Dexter's lab". There is about 150lbs of LR in it, and it is home to a DIY skimmer, DIY Calcium Reactor, DIY Nilsen reactor, as well as heaters, temp probes, pH monitor probe, etc. etc.

032803sump.jpg

Btw, most sumps are not this complicated. When we had the 75g tank, our sump was simply an Acrylic DIY 20g container underneath the tank stand, which housed a skimmer and heaters. ;-)

HTH!

RanRoc

In short, yes to all the above, including increased water volume, place to keep extra live rock, place to dump in additives, keep certain live stock out of main tank, etc...
-RY

ReefLady

Staff member
Oh and that is one complicated sump.

LOL, it took many many years to get to this point. And though the sump appears complicated - the main reason it is designed this way is to minimize maintenance - to allow us to be lazy. :cool: