Suitable Tank Mates For An Undulated Trigger Fish

Badger84

Hi guys,

As I said in my welcome post, I am just starting out and am wondering what would be a suitable tank mate for my undulated triggerfish. We now know that damsels are not suitable as he ate my girlfriend’s fish. My tank is half full of live rock and am just wanting to know what else to put in it. I would like some corals and other fish, but don’t want the triggerfish to destroy everything.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

cheeks69

Wannabe Guru
RS STAFF
The Undulate Trigger although a beautiful fish it's extremely aggressive and once it reaches maturity, I don't see any suitable tankmates that will not be continually picked on or killed by him.

BTW this isn't a reefsafe fish !

cracker

funny you say the brian that is about the only thing I wont trade for
Yikes! Would You consider taking one with out a trade? Is this trigger about as "vicious " as they come? The meanest fish I ever had was a 3 " Tomato Clown!

AQTCJAK

RS Sponsor
I matched a 4" ungilated with a 5' moray one time it was fun while it lasted only one I ever took in

tbittner

Wow! I can't believe a 5' moray couldn't stand up to the trigger. Amazing!!!

Jack, I know you also reported that it killed other triggers. It's just a vicious fish. What about a puffer, such as the porcupine?

Or what if you kept the tank stalked with inexpensive damsels so it would leave the bigger fish, such as other triggers, alone? :dunno:

AQTCJAK

RS Sponsor
the moray stood up to t ht triiger but the trigger did get its licks in before he was lunched.

porcupines are a bit nasty as well however the ungulated makes quick work of it

cracker

OH Man! So the Morey had the devil for brunch! I bet "that" was a sticky task! So Badger, Not a lot of options for You at this time. How big is the trigger & how long have You had it?

Badger84