Starting new seahorse tank!:)

adamrpostjr

Hi, im new to the sight!

Right now I am the LFS guy:) so I have a lot of insight on what to do an stuff because for 8 hours a day 5 days a week I take care of fish!

That being said I never set up a tank before!! The store had been up and running for 7 years now and I have been working in fish for about a year and a half.. i'm going to admit that i dont know everything :)

Originally I wanted to set up my reef tank (coral only) no way my girlfriend would let me. when she realized people could keep seahorses she wanted to set up a tank and i told her that if i can have coral i don't care what we put i there as long as its reef safe.

My 30g tank has been up and running for a month and a half.

Right now all i have in there is

35 pounds live sand
7 medium size pieces of life rock

livestock
3 Green Chromis
1 Blue fin watchman goby
1 red banded pistol shrimp (they paired up quickly)

Coral
A couple of zoas that fell off at work that they let me have for free(doing well)
Kenya tree that wasn't blooming at work that they let me have for free(just took in yesterday hasn't opened up much any ideas)

Nice Size cleaner crew.
5 Nassaris snails
2 Turbos
10 blue leg hermits
1 emerald crab
1 sally lightfoot crab

Everything is living and thriving so far! I only had two issues 1 chromis died leaving me with 3 (he was picked on at work so i took him to put him in a more peaceful tank so he was stressed and i think he died from that, and i took in a hurt sand sifting sea star he didnt make i threw his injury sadly he was cool!!

My hardware
Marineland biowheel filter (biowheel is now growing algea:)
Glass lid (to prevent escapes and parrots trying to take a bath)
Powerhead
constant hydrometer
Coralife lighting T5

Was told not to use protein skimmer in reef tank by a couple of regular customers