So what's a good dslr camera and lens for taking decent pics without raiding a bank.

Mrsalt

PREMIUM
Ok so I'm at a point of frustration, my iPad sucks at taking tank and coral pics. Everything is just too blue and does not come through in true colours that I see . So I'm thinking I'd like a camera and lens preferably macro so I don't have to stand the other side of the room to get close ups of polyps etc.

Any advice would be great as I'm a complete novice on this front.

Thanks in advance :)

glennf

Re: So what's a good dslr camera and lens for taking decent pics without raiding a ba

Samsung phones take decent pictures with white balance set to cloudy.

Beside that there are apps available which can correct the white balance on you tablet or phone camera

Canon eos600 and nikon d7100 camera's have extended features to correct white balance.
But the expensive camera's are worthless if you don"t understand how they work..

The best settings is to use P setting, no flash, manuel focus and use white balance shift setting.

greetings, GlennF

nanoreefing4fun

RS STAFF
Re: So what's a good dslr camera and lens for taking decent pics without raiding a ba

Checkout this link... canon or nikon are good choices - I like canon - eos are good value - shoot in Raw Format & post process with photoshop essentials ($90)

http://shop.usa.canon.com/shop/en/c...a-bundles/eos-rebel-t5-digital-camera-bundles

http://www.photoshopessentials.com/

http://www.adobe.com/cfusion/tdrc/index.cfm?product=photoshop_elements&loc=en

I don't have one... but If you have the budget... this macro lens is where to put the $$$, but it's twice the price of the camera
http://www.usa.canon.com/cusa/consumer/products/cameras/ef_lens_lineup/ef_100mm_f_2_8l_macro_is_usm

Snid