Skimmer in sump question

75reef

Hi everybody, I am new to RS... I do have one question. I have an AquaC EV-90 skimmer in a Megaflow sump. This supports a 75 Gal tank.

With about a gallon of water evaporating every day, the sump water level changes enough that it greatly affects the skimmer. If it is down about 2 or 3 gallons, the skimmer produces no waste. I have the skimmer sitting off of the bottom about 3/4 - 1". What do you guys do? thanks in advance!

Woodstock

The Wand Geek was here. ;)
RS STAFF
I suggest you top off the evaporated water at least once a day or better yet, get an auto top off device that does it for you ( AutoTopoff.com ).

A fluctuating salinity level is stressful on fish and corals.

Welcome to Reefsanctuary!!! :hallo:

goldenmean

An auto top off unit would add water several times throughout the day and the water level would remain more consistant so that your skimmer is not affected.

Snelly40

is there a way to create baffles so the water level by the skimmer does not change. Mine does not ever move below a certain point.
If its not possiblei would definately add an ATO, actually i would add one anyway. They are great!!!

mps9506

One of the problems with the megaflow sump I noticed is the baffling is placed so that the middle section stays at a consistent level.
The size of the last two baffles before the return pump should be larger, ideally they should have added one more to help diffuse bubbles without that silly sponge that likes to catch detritus.

But an Autotop off would help out a lot as well as decrease the amount of work you actually have to do :)

Whiskey

Just some guy, you know?
I agree with the autotopoff,.. There great! I wouldn't have a tank without one anymore, plus it will probably be the easyst sulution to your problem.

Whiskey

AQTCJAK

RS Sponsor