plankton reactor (help)

discusdean

would any of you reef aholics have any idea when a plankton reactor can be classed as ready to harvest as my aqua medic unit has been set up and running for two weeks and is a pale lime green soup at the moment and is not the dark rich green i was expecting .am dosing with fertiliser as directed and air rating 24 7 .(please help).

mps9506

I've never used a plankton reactor before. Sorry.
Having cultured phyto before I usally siphoned off three quarters of the container every two weeks when it got dark green.
Growth rates are dependant ont he strain of algae you are growing, the temperature and amount of oxygen and nutrients in the water.

discusdean

thanks for that maybe just need to leave it a litttle longer or change the strain have looked under a micro scope and the culture is growing on but slowly

Brucey

The Aquamedic bit of kit is a good bit of geer but you can get just as good results in a coke bottle. IMO. I ran some for 2 years but have stopped now as i was getting a build up of PO4 in the tank. ANYWAY, that aside, yes you should be aiming for a very dark green culture. A few tips for you. It sounds crazy but do a 10% water change every week. Sometimes the water can fowl and you'll lose the lot. This helps to avoid this happening. Clean the reactor every month. A film can build up on the inside of the reactor and cut down light levels entering it. Don't be too keen on feeding the fertilizer, like fish, it's better to underfeed than over feed. Take my advice and keep two cultures going. Eventually, for no reason, one culture will crash and you'll have a backup.

Heres a good URL for you
http://www.reefs.org/library/talklog/r_toonen_102500.html

A quick pic of mine, you'll see the culture is new, after about 3 weeks you couldn't even see light through it

HTH
Brucey

Attachments

• Phytoplankton Setup.JPG
    Phytoplankton Setup.JPG
    30.3 KB · Views: 46

mps9506