New to the Reef Tank world. About to purchase a 220gal Reef tank. Suggestions welcome

sophie

Hi all,

I have been running a freshwater tropical tank for about 25 years and am finally up for a change. Although I have read up on and asked a lot of questions about Reef and fish tanks, I thought I should ask the opinions of other's as sometimes going to you'r local aquarium shops have different standards on the quality of products.
So here is what I have just been priced upon....

6 foot x 2 foot x 2 foot Tank, cabinet and marine hood
6 foot Sump
Eheim Jager Heater 300w
Aqua medic Turbo Floater 3000 ( have heard some bad things about this ) Please feel free to add opinions on protein skimmers ( price is not an issue for the most important part of the tank)
2 x 210 Watt ( cree 3w led ) panels
Eheim Return pump 3000 L/H
3 x circulation pumps 12,000 l/h ( has not stated brand )

These are the obviously the main components, please feel free to suggest different brands, I am not too keen on the Aqua Medic 3000 due to a few reviews I have read although def want a no noise ( low noise ) skimmer.

He has also suggested I buy about 80kg of live rock to start up this tank and 120kg 1mm coral sand...

Not a cheap new hobby but can not wait to have this up and going.

Any advise or suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks

engineer goby

Has been struck by the ban stick
Re: New to the Reef Tank world. About to purchase a 220gal Reef tank. Suggestions wel

Welcome to RS. What a way to start off 220 wow I started with a 45. Talk to Devon about setting up a mixing station and auto water change else you will hate this hobby with a tank that size. I believe he is the resident expert when it comes to automation

sophie

Re: New to the Reef Tank world. About to purchase a 220gal Reef tank. Suggestions wel

Thanks for the info Rob, will do.