NEW TO THE REEF.....Questions......

LiVEWiRE

Hello all. I am new to the reef keeping hobby, I have freshwater tanks 1 large and 2 smaller ones and am ready to start a reef tank. I don't have many challenges in freshwater so I am setting up a reef tank and also have some questions. First I would like to say I am going slow with this setup. I hear that is the way to do it and it pays off in the long run. Okay this is what I have got so far. I have a 40 gallon breeder tank its pretty good sized and I built a stand for it to hold the weight load of the reef. I made a 10 gallon sump with a total of 4 compartments. To feed the sump I have a CPR overflow that is rated to 800GPH. I have a power head that pumps at 270GPH to return the water to the tank. I know that I will have to get more flow in the tank but can you have to much flow? I have 40 lbs of live sand ready to be added to the tank but it says to add your salt water to the tank and I want to mix it in the tank for the setup. I have an RO system that makes 24GPD and have started making water after dis guarding the first 10 gallon.