New Clownfish Breeder-Starting out questions

Devnull

First off I am new to breeding clownfish but have been in saltwater hobby for some time now. I purchased a pair of Ocellaris Clownfish off of the divers den at liveaquaria. This is my first purchase from the divers den but have received many great fish from liveaquaria in the past. The fish will be in a 10G tank that I use for quarantine from time to time while I finish the setup and cycle on a 29g that I plan to use as the breeding tank.

I am looking for opinions on bare bottom vs. substrate for the floor of the tank...I assume that in the long run that it will not make much difference to the fish, but I enjoy having a tank that is pleasing to look at even though it will be a breeding tank. Also the pair is fairly small so I am thinking it may take some time before they breed (hoping that they will) so I want their home to be as comfortable and natural as possible.

My current plan would be to use a crushed coral base with a few nice pieces of live rock and either a flower pot or tile.

Thanks for any recommendations, I have truly enjoyed stumbling through all the posts in the breeding section of this site and seeing everyone's great setups.

Blair

blue_eyes53813

Hello and welcome.. Maybe woodstock will chime in here soon... Or shoot her a pm.. she can prob point you in the right direction..

Woodstock

The Wand Geek was here. ;)
RS STAFF
:hallo: Hello and Welcome to Reef Sanctuary Blair!

AWESOME!!! A marine fish breeder.. whohoo!! :dance:

Some like barebottom... but I would go with a fine aragonite sand bed of about 3" instead of a crushed coral substrate. Crushed coral traps ditritus very quickly and requires lots of siphoning to keep it clean. The fine textured sand bed requires less (or no) maintenance. Some people vacuum their sand bed (Like myself) while others just replace it every year or two... or never.

Do keep us posted on your breeding endeavors! I wish you success :thumbup:

Devnull