New 12g Aquapod!

huskerdan25

Hi everyone! This is my first time posting here though I have been participating in discussions on another forum.

I had purchased as Aquapod 24g HQI from my LFS a couple weeks ago but after three failed attempts to get one that wasn't either scratched badly or cracked, I finally decided to go with the 12g version for my first nano-reef. Beautiful tank and the leak test has gone well. I'm going to be ready to add saltwater, live rock and live sand to the tank starting tomorrow, so I'm excited as you can imagine.

I am upgrading the stock pump with a maxijet 900. Will this provide sufficient water flow? The stock pump seems to do ok but I've read enough to where it is clear that I needed to upgrade it, if only to get a more efficient pump that doesn't put out so much heat. I love the Y connector that came with the tank to get the water flow in more than one direction. Should I continue to use it and should I point the ends down to get the water flow lower in the tank or is it fine to keep them pointing more towards the top of the tank?

I plan to put 12-15 lbs of live rock (most likely carribean) and about 12 lbs of live sand in it. I have a refractometer and the Seachem test kit on order from premium aquatics. I plan to keep the tank pretty much stock with the exception of replacing the pump with the maxijet 900.

Here is a question. Tomorrow, when I start putting the saltwater into the tank, should I add the live sand first and wait until it settles into the tank (most likely will get cloudy for a while) and then add the live rock a day or two later? I don't need to add both the sand and the rock together right? Probably a dumb question because it would be difficult to aquascape if I can't see what I'm doing in the tank :)