Need help asap with clown turning white

Good Morning,
My partner woke me up this morning telling me that our male clown fish is not looking so good. So I got up to try and find out why. I'm not very good with fish disease, so I am hoping you all can help me out. I have noticed for the past week my male clown fish scales have seemed to be turning white. But I did not panic because I have little experience with fish disease and was trying to make it go away by thinking about it really hard. Does not work....
Any ideas what it could be? We have said he is on his last leg a couple times before and always seems to perk back up, but this time we think it might be true. He also seems to be breathing very fast and is hovering just above the bottom of the tank.
Ammonia 0
Nitrate: 5ppm
Nitrite: 0
Phosphate: 0
SG: 1.024
Calcium: 460
Alkalinity: 10dkh

Attachments

• sick clown.JPG
    sick clown.JPG
    42.9 KB · Views: 137
Yes that was my first guess, but after doing some research, it does not seem like ick, there is no white "spots" just a gradual turning of white. I am thinking it is Brooklynella but I dont know for sure

caca9786

It honestly looks like Brooklynella, a protozoan infection, which is characterized by turning white, being lethargic, and gasping for air. Will he eat?

You will need to quarantine him in a separate tank and treat with formalin. Formalin kills ALL bacteria, so you'll need him in a separate tank to avoid losing your bio filter.
You'll also need to add aeration, like an air stone because it depletes oxygen.

Good luck!

It honestly looks like Brooklynella, a protozoan infection, which is characterized by turning white, being lethargic, and gasping for air. Will he eat?

You will need to quarantine him in a separate tank and treat with formalin. Formalin kills ALL bacteria, so you'll need him in a separate tank to avoid losing your bio filter.
You'll also need to add aeration, like an air stone because it depletes oxygen.

Good luck!