My new first Nano

forestal

Hi all...

I wanted to share my new nano...my first attempt...

Tank: 10 gallon standard
Lighting: 36" Corallife ( 2 x 96 watt (one 10K and 1 50/50)) over it
Filtration: 30 pounds LR, Emperor 300 with LR/macro (filled with sand/live rock as mini fuge and for water flow with acrylic glued to deflect flow horizontally
Substrate: 2-3" aragonite sugar fine sand (for nitrate reduction)
Livestock: yellow citron gobey, neon blue gobey, purple sea rod, yellow & red sea rod, tubastrea, zo's, purple shrooms, green monti, xenia
Feeding: Cyclopeeze, flake and DTs (5cc) 2x/day
Stats: Ammonia=0, Nitrite=0, Nitrate=0, pH=8.2, Ca=520(working on it), PO4=0, Specific Gravity=1.025
Maintenance: 80% or 8 gallons weekly using water from reef, FW Ro topoff ~500cc/day

I need more snails me thinks cause the denitrifying (?cyano) bubbles coat everything in daytime, despite pretty good water flow...i'm new to the nano stuff.

nanotank2.jpg

more info/pics of livestock at http://www.forestalsfish.com/Nano10.html

Any feedback and/or criticism accepted, thanks ;)

mps9506

Very cool. Are you going to put a background or paint the back glass? The filters and cords are kind of distracting.
Other than that I think it looks great. Should look better once stuff starts growing in.

forestal

thanks all...my first nano, just getting used to micro dosing food so i don't poison the tank...but i really like it...the sps and xenia seem to love the light...i only have 6 inches of unuses light...the penguin filter with live rock and macro is on the side so is under the light as well..

a backing would be nice...ideally making a bit bigger fuge so i can not have heater in the tank, and a dark blue background would look nicer i think.

forestal

thought would update...re scaped a bit...put some black backing on...and put the light on the hinges, looks a bit better (my wife now will allow me to keep them rather than finding lights that fit :D )

nanosetup3.jpg