kH too low

Adrienne

The kH in my month old tank is low - I am using the Red Sea test kit, and it is not increasing.

On 31/8 it was 6.7 and I added 12.5ml of reef carbonate as per the dosing instructions for 'beginners'.
instructions say to dose 5mls per 80 litres twice a week. Check alkalinity every two weeks.

Two days later 2/9 -this am, I added 20ml of reef carbonate. The kH this pm is 6.7

Advanced instructions say not to dose more than 20ml per 80 litres per day.

With my kH this low and not seemingly increasing how often would you recommend I dose and how much.

I have in the tank a trumpet coral, 1 open brain, 3 hairy mushrooms, 1 zoo, 1 xenia and a leather mushroom (thats what I think it is).

Last edited:

Snid

Whoa! I'm no coral expert, so my response may be way off, but Alkaline is a nutrient that various corals do need. Most recommendations are to not add any corals into the system until it has matured at least around 3 months, sometimes longer. With a month old system that is low in nutrients you may want to be extra observant of your corals. Look for color shifts, fading, and maybe even some bleaching.

I have read that some people have helped raise their Alkalinity by adding a teaspoon of Baking Soda to their Sump every day. If you can't add it to the Sump because you don't have one, maybe scoop out a cup of tank water, mix it in there, then gradually pour it back into the tank after it has dissolved.

Again, I am no coral expert, so I'd hold tight until others respond, but I'd at the very least start observing the corals closely each day, maybe make yourself a daily photo journal so you can compare them each day. ;)

sirrealism