ick problem

blondie323

I need help!! My fish have had ick for about 3 weeks now and I lost my powder brown surgeon:tears: No one in town has anything to cure it. I have lowered my salt to .19 and an soaking the food in garlic and have raised my heat to 81-82. I was told today from the lfs that I should raise my temp to 85-86 is that too hot??????

BrothaWolf

You could try ordering Kick Ick... I have no first hand experience with it but Ive read that some people have had success with it and it wont bother your corals

sasquatch

Brunt of all Jokes~
PREMIUM
Blondie, I guess quarantine isnt an option? hopefully they will recouver soon, youve done everything else, if they get really bad ,a fresh water dip would help( please check up on this as I dont remember the procedure with any assurance) the temp could go up a bit, but, higher temp means lower oxegenation with more resulting stress, all the best. Steve

cheeks69

Wannabe Guru
RS STAFF
There are only three proven ways to eliminate Marine Ich and they all require a quarantine tank:

1.Copper
2.Hyposalinity
3.The transfer method

Is this a Fish only tank ? How long has it been setup ? Are any of your fish recent additions ? Are you able to setup a quarantine tank ?

BoomerD

Dropping the salinity to 1.019 does NOTHING. A UV sterilizer may HELP. but is NOT a cure. See Cheeks post below:

cheeks69 said:
There are only three proven ways to eliminate Marine Ich and they all require a quarantine tank:

1.Copper
2.Hyposalinity
3.The transfer method

Is this a Fish only tank ? How long has it been setup ? Are any of your fish recent additions ? Are you able to setup a quarantine tank ?

BrothaWolf

sasquatch said: