Hippo with Ich

Jiddy

i found my Hippo in my 220 was scratchin on the rock, after examing him i found little white dots which appear to be ich, the only other guys in the tank are a YT and 8 Chromis, none which seem to have symptoms. The Hippo is eating Nori, Brine, and Flake and seems to be happy, with the exception of the occasional scratchin of the rock. I have the Garlic Kent additive which i soaked my brine in and the hippo loved it, the ich has spread a little more over his body, im pretty new to the ich stuff, so what should i do now?

Warnberg

Jid, IME leave him alone, just keep soaking the food in Garlic and you may want to add some selcon as well.... My Regal/Hippo had it as well and every one I have owned (2) over the last 15 years has had ich, they are very suseptable to it and always seem to get it.

After I found ich on my Regal I QT'd it along with all the other fish in my tank for 8 weeks and teated with hypo salinity, after 8 weeks in that little 20 gallon tank I returned all my fish back to the main disply (240) and guess what 2 weeks later, you guessed it, Regal had ich again.

I wouldn't stress the fish by QT'ing at this point, feed good healthy foods and continue to soak in garlic and selcon. You may want to consider a cleaner shrimp or two, they will help if the Regal will allow it to clean it...

By the way 6 months later my Regal is growing, eating, and no more itching and I have had coments about it, "Boy that is the heathiest Regal I have ever seen"

Woodstock

The Wand Geek was here. ;)
RS STAFF
Garlic, clean water, garlic, clean water.... I agree with Dave; feed them well and wait. It could recover on its own. Check the temperature and water parameters too...

For severe cases of ich, allowing the main tank to go fallow for 6-8 weeks while the fish are treated in a QT using the hyposalinity method works best.

cheeks69

Wannabe Guru
RS STAFF