Hello from Hollywood

smkndrgn142

Hi there! I'm new as a member here, but have been reading the forums for a while looking for advice. I've been keeping FOWLR tanks for about 10 years now and I'm finally ready to make the switch to a reef tank in my 55g. I look forward to learning from you all and offering help when I can...;)

matthew

smkndrgn142

Welcome aboard Hollywood!
Ask away! Feel free to post pics of your setup as well.

Thanks! Put up a post in the DIY section, I'm trying to figure out the plumbing for a sump & refugium I'm building...because of space I'm forced to use 2 10 gallon aquariums. I need to take some new pics now that I've got the rest of the live rock in...but maybe I'll put some of the old ones up for the time being.

smkndrgn142

Thanks all for the welcome and to all those who have offered their assistance with my sump/refugium plans! Things are on a quick hold while i treat my coral beauty who has become ill. Preparing for a water change tomorrow and a quick hyposalinity treatment. There have been some recent changes to the tank and I think he's been a little stressed out. Everyone else is okay, so I'm thankful for that! He's not acting ill yet, so i'm sure he'll pull through...I've had him almost 4 years, I'd hate to lose him now...:( Only had the clown longer (7years)...

smkndrgn142

2 days later...he's in a QT after a fresh water bath...he seems happy and healthy. Eating well and swimming like crazy. I think he misses the bigger thank. Still not sure what it was...water quality was good, trates were a little high (20), but everything else was good...haven't added anything but sand and rock in the last 3 months. Oh, well, the angel will be in Qt for a few more weeks, but then safely back home.

Tru2nr