Feather Duster Cluster ?? Or something else

dtorbit

I haven’t been able to locate a thread about these guys and I’m hoping they aren’t going to be a nuisance. They have been growing steadily for over a year. I currently don’t have any corals but they are coming soon. Is this something I should be worried about or are they OK? They are reddish brown, grow in clusters and retract when messed with like a feather duster does. Also in the morning they are very pale when the lights come on then by the evening they are full of color again.

**Also – It is sure hard to get good photos of the stuff in your tank….this is my first attempt at photographing things inside my tank. I’m sure there are posts here on how to get good photos so I will have to find them – but dang!! I only have a 50 gallon tank and first of all it’s really hard to get in there and second, I can only hold my breath for a few seconds…:smack:

cluster1.jpg

cluster2.jpg

seafansar

lol. The photos look fine to me! Those are hydroids. They can annoy corals, especially zoanthids, but they aren't the worst thing you could have in a tank. If they are only on a couple of rocks and if they are easy to take out of the tank, take tweezers and pick them of or try scrubbing them off. Sounds like yours are growing fast enough that you might want to remove them. Unfortunately, I have not heard of anything eating them (maybe zebra hermits) or anything you can put on them to kill them.

dtorbit