Equipment for 36 gallon bowfront aquairum

ReefRage

Appropriate Equipment/other information

I'm just starting out with getting a tank all set up and so I can start the cycle process and getting a awesome CUC. I have a 36 gallon bowfront tank. Currently in the process of purchasing everything I need for the tank. Once everything is bought it will be to start the cycle process. My wish is to start small and get a great understanding of how this process works and then work to a bigger tank. the plan is to start with some general easy coral/plants, Minor fish that are easy and look awesome, and then get a amazing CUC.

I have two beginner questions to ask. Need to help and recommendations.

I bought the tank today and it came with some random filters, heater, and light. I would like to see if this would be the correct equipment or I should I look at upgrading. Possibly will still upgrade, but want to get help :)

Heater - All-Glass Aquarium 100W (Model #AGA100)

Filter - Aqueon QuietFlow 30 Power Filter

Lights - All-Glass Aquarium 24" Fluorescent Aquarium Reflector Light

Please don't be afraid to give me lots of recommendations and your thoughts of this.

Last edited:

reefer gladness

What are you wanting to keep in the tank? I'm guessing this was purchased as a freshwater setup?

Knowing what you plan to keep in the tank will help us figure out what you do and don't need.

ReefRage

Well that might have been super helpful for everyone lol.

I'm looking to do a hybrid style tank. I want a few fish and some plants/coral.

DaveK

What you have is your basic FW basic aquarium set up. As you have no doubt seen, reef systems do things quite a but differently. Over time, expect to replace most of the equipment you have now, but you need not be an any sort of super rush to do that.

ReefRage