drilling glass

skeletor121

I just picked up a used 150 gallon Glass Tank yesterday. I have a lot of work to fix it up, but got a bunch of stuff with it and got it at a good price. It does not have any holes drilled into it yet, but came with a HOT overflow that he used for a long time w/out problems. After reading a bunch of posts on different forums, including here, I think that drilling corner overflows would be the best way to go. I have no experience in this, since I have no overflows or sumps in any of my other FW tanks. How easy is it to get the holes drilled? How big should the holes be? Do I only need 2 holes drilled (one in each corner)? Do I need to drill a hole for the return? The setup that came with it just had the return come over the top. I don't mind doing it this way, but want to make sure there is a reason not to go along with his return setup. How many holes, total, will I need to drill? What are the locations for all the holes? I'm probably going to have someone else drill the holes because I don't want to ruin a nice tank. The dimensions of the tank are as follows: 60Lx24wx24h. The stand that came with it does have holes drilled in the corners which I am guessing are for the overflows to come down into a sump. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

mwrager

I would get two hole drilled in each corner. one for the supply and one for the return. As for some one to do the drilling i would contact your local LFS, they sould be able to help. As to the size mine are 1 inch holes and they work for me.

SZHTTM

As far as drilling, you first have to make sure that the glass sections you decide to drill the holes into is not made of tempered glass. Tempered glass will shatter as soon as you start drilling. Some aquairums come with this type of glass on the bottom. So try your best to identify this if at all possible.