Chillers???

Clint24

I have never used a chiller before so I had a few questions & was hoping I could get some advice.
What brand of chiller would some of you all recommend?
What size would it take to maintain a 220 gal DT with a 40 gal sump ?
How hard are they to install? Do they run by a separate pump or do u plumb them into a return line or something like that?

Any help and suggestions would be helpful. My wife likes her heat in the winter time!! :) I'm hoping to have one up & running before this up coming winter. Thanks!!

CD

goma

RS STAFF
PREMIUM
Hi Clint - out of curiosity, why do you feel you need a chiller with such a large tank and sump?

PSU4ME

JoePa lives on!!!
Staff member
PREMIUM
I haven't ever ran a chiller but I'll tell you what I know. Two kinds out there, a drop in style which work my cooling a metal rod to achieve the result and the other kind is one where you pump the water through it. First kind is easy but the second one offers more ways to install. You can add a dedicated pump or do a manifold type setup. The key is you want to control the gph through it (it has a recommended rate)

The size of the chiller depends on how much "work" it has to do. If you need to drop 250g of water 4 degrees that's a big job etc etc.

Like Greg asked, what's your need? High temps, want really cool water?? That might help with the sizing. Have you tried running fans around it to cool it?

Clint24

Thank you for the replies. In the summer my tank stays pretty constant around 77 degrees but i have an air conditioner vent in that room. I'm worried about the winter mainly because of the wood burning stove in the other room. When we get a fire goin & my 3-250 watt halide fixture is on I am worried about temp getting to high. I'm ok with a little fluctuation but not a lot. It was just something that I was thinking might be a good upgrade.

CD

DianaKay

Princess Diana
RS STAFF