Check List - What is missing ?

inet-projects

Guys,

Apologies I live in Germany and I have been yearning for a Reef since I left England 10 Years ago, I managed to find a resonably priced shop today, and nearly understood what I am about to buy.

My take is to get the tank up and running Live Sand & Live Rock and then test etc to the correct levels.

Equipment Starter Check list. (All in Metric)

160x60x60 Tank drilled in 2 back corners

Stand for the above custom built to allow Skimmer to fit inside 160x60x80

Filter Sump 70/40/50

Thermometer

6x Ehiem Compact 1000 Pumps

1 x Newatt NJ 1700 for pump circulation

Heater

1x 150 Seaclone Protein Skimmer

HQI ALU Lighting System

PVC Plumming for the above.

Live Reef Sand Need to purchase this somewhere else

Live Rock, need to purchase this somewhere else.

What I am I missing in this shopping list to get me started ?

Thanks

Dave

BoomerD

Trying to convert that into US measure is way too much work for me now, so I'll just say that the Sea Clone skimmer is not a good one. Being in Germany, you have MUCH BETTER choices available to you. H&S and Deltec are the first two that come to mind...
DEFINITELY get a better skimmer. Your tank will thank you for it.

Gibeon

BoomerD, If those are centimeters, it's a 150 Gallon tank (give or take). (52"x24"x24")

Inet - Don't forget an RO/DI filter system for water change and top-off water.

inet-projects

Gibeon,

Thanks for that, but I understood that depends on the water quality in your area, I will check with the local shop he should be able to advise what the quality is like here in Munich.

Thanks

Dave

cheeks69

Wannabe Guru
RS STAFF
Welcome to RS Dave !

6x Ehiem Compact 1000 Pumps

1 x Newatt NJ 1700 for pump circulation

How many lts. per hour are both of these pumps ? I would recommend the Tunze stream for ciculation.

HQI ALU Lighting System

How many HQI bulbs and what is the wattage does it have actinic lights for dusk/dawn effect ?