BRS Bio-pellets

rgfast

well I just started these this week and wonderring if anyone else has been using them. If so what progess have you seen and positive results have you had or had not

steved13

PREMIUM
I have been using vertex bio pellets for about 2 months and I am currently running a mix of 3 different brands. My nitrates dropped to 0 within a day.

Here is a thread with a great article about pellets and carbon dosing:

http://www.reefsanctuary.com/forums/front-page-news/64480-probiotics-demystified.html

I'm no expert but I've done quite a bit of reading on the pellets. If I can be of any help let me know.

I'll be very interested in your results. If possible..what are your beginning nitrate and phosphate readings?

rgfast

Thanks for the response Steved13 I plan on keeping updates on progress and will be able to giving some real test numbers this weekend orderred Hanna PO4 meter my API test just won't cut it. I have installed this on my frag system to test , don't like to exp. on DT but if this goes like I think it will be they next

steved13

PREMIUM
Great to hear, I'll be watching for your updates. You may find your nitrate has dropped considerably by this weekend. I wish you had the starting or "before" numbers. I use the hanna checker for PO4. I have read that the brs use a similar (if not the same) polymer as the vertex, when I started my nitrates dropped to 0 overnight, phosphates dropped over time but still not at 0. I believ my situation is because my phosphates were higher than nitrates to begin with. The bacteria need a balance of nitrate and phosphate along with the carbon, once you run out of 1 the other stalls.

Best of luck I'll be looking forward to the updates.

DanSReef

Hi Steve.