Bright Yellow Sebae Anemone

DJLiquid

I purchased a bright yellow sebae anemone from my LFS last week for my custom 72 watt 14 gallon bio cube. I was a bit dissapointed to find out after the fact that these anemones are dyed and was concerned with it's survival. Well a few days after introducing it to the two black percula in my tank one of them is now hosting it. It has also has eaten the peeled shrimp I have fed it twice. The question I have is will it survive now since the clown has taken to it and it is eating?

Rhodes19

I am no expert on anemones but I think the BC 14 may be way to small for anemones. I've read 30 g minimum. They need excellet water conditions and a lot of good light. As for the clowns, you don't need clownfish to keep an anemone. They are nice to have but not required. HTH

cbrownfish

Honestly, it is hard to answer your question without a crystal ball. :) While I am only intending to be comical with the previous comment, I can tell you that an anemone that eating, with a good light source, has a reasonable chance at survival. A dyed specimen is at a disadvantage and you may consider reaching out to Bob Fenner at Wetwebmedia, Aquarium, Pond, Marine and Freshwater Fish, reef tanks, and Aquatics Information to ask his opinion as to whether you should even keep a dyed specimen. As stated above, a small water volume leaves you with an uphill climb when trying to keep an anemone. Maintain good water quality, consistent salinity, minimal temp fluctuation and you give this animal the best chance.

BTW FWIW: Anemone = Host, Clown = Resident (Freeloader:)). The anemone is hosting the clown......the clown is residing in the anemone.

lkc