Black Tip Reef Shark!

tpk212

Hey guys,

I have been keeping fish for almost 6 years now both fresh and salt water!
my final challenge and the thing i have always wanted the most is a shark that actually looks like a shark!
i have decided a black tip reef shark as they dont grow as big as most other sharks!
if anyone has any information about keeping sharks or exp they have had i would love to hear from you! but if you are one of those people who tell me i need a big tank please do not post in this thead! i already no i need a massive tank! haha
also whats the deal with everyone saying sharks are really hard to care for with water quality?

Thanx tpk212

molsen187

i'm no shark expert but i would imagine the water quality concerns would be because the shark would be a messy eater like other aggressive fish. i say go for it and just make sure you have a massive skimmer that is rated higher than your tank requirement.

tpk212

i'm no shark expert but i would imagine the water quality concerns would be because the shark would be a messy eater like other aggressive fish. i say go for it and just make sure you have a massive skimmer that is rated higher than your tank requirement.

Thanx mate!
that actually makes alot of sence! and would you think i go huge on both skimmer and filter? by huge i mean abovee the requirments for the tank?

molsen187

like i said i'm no expert but i would imagine bigger is better for this kind of a set up. you want your water to be a clean as possible so i would go bigger on both than needed. i'd rather have more than enough than not enough and have to spend the money on something bigger.

Jeremy0322