Bat21's RSM 250

Bat21

Hello everyone. I won't be starting from the beginning here, but I'm only a few months in. I decided on a RSM 250 instead of the 130 because my LFS was selling the old model (with the rounded glass) for $1100. So even though I had planned on the 130, I could not resist getting a tank double the size for basically the same price.

I live in a one bedroom apartment in New York City, so I am limited in what I can do with equipment, plumbing, mods, etc. I convinced my landlord to let me have the tank, but any mishap, like a malfunctioning ATO, would end this adventure in a hurry.

Since I am a complete novice, I have decided to just do a FOWLR. Plus, fish are the reason I got into this. I don't have a love of corals just yet, but surely can imagine the desire growing inside me once I have reached the tank's fish limit. But for now, no reef, just fish. Here it is now, about 10 weeks in:

D3dFA6.jpg

Bat21

The backstory:

I decided to add the fake coral pieces for some color in the tank. Plus I thought my clowns would want something to call home, and I was right about that. Currently I have an orange and misbar darwin occelaris pair as you can see to the left in their coral home. A pair of skunk cleaner shrimp who are already spawning. About a dozen hermit crabs, which have also spawned a few times. And 3 nessarius snails.

The rock is all CaribSea Life Rock that came dry. Did not start with live rock. I was nervous about dealing with bad hitchhikers and whatnot, and when my LFS showed me this stuff, I was sold. They also said that a few days in I could get a fish or two. Now, I did not plan on cycling with fish, but what they told me made sense. Since the rock will have zero die off, and it is just one fish creating waste in 66 gallons, the ammonia and nitrite will not reach toxic levels, so it won't be hard on the fish. It made sense to me, and it allowed me to instantly have a fish in there. They ended up being right, so it's all good.