Auto Top-Off Systems?

zy112

I am considering buying an auto top off system because I am hoping to take a job where I could travel up to a week a month, more likely a week every couple months. I'm also training my girlfriend as a back up but we all know how long it takes to become "compitent" dealing with a reef tank. Although I should have it were it will just need top off water.

My question is do you use auto top offs? If so what brand? I was looking at the POSEIDON on Aqua FX site just because I have the barracuda ro/di unit from them. Having never used an auto top-off I am a rookie at this and feel more comfortable doing it myself daily. Got any advise/suggestions?

Woodstock

The Wand Geek was here. ;)
RS STAFF
I use a homemade (made by Brian_e) auto top off that has two float switches and is encased by clear acrylic and also can be hung on the side of the sump (with easy adjustments up and down using a plastic wing nut) (see pic below).

Also check out these sites:
AutoTopoff.com
do-it-yourself guides

floats_auto_topoff.jpg

Last edited:

corrado007

I use a homemade auto top off that has two float switches and is encased by clear acrylic and also can be hung on the side of the sump (with easy adjustments up and down using a plastic wing nut)

Wow, that's a great float switch holder. Good job!

Mine isn't nearly as nice but it's a very similar set-up as well. It's a great way to go and a bit less expensive than buying kits. It also allows you to customize it to better integrate into your tank/system if you're into the DIY thing.
Although not as elaborate, here are a few pics of my set-up as well. You can also see some more detail of mine in my chronicle linked in my signature.

FloatSwitches.jpg

WaterTest1.jpg

ATOAqualiftPump.jpg

Hope that helps.

Snelly40

i got mine from autotopoff.com and it is great.
I would get the doulble float switch, safer.