-Tank age; approximately 8 months
-Full back wall covered in Live Rock

Inhabitants:
-4" Yellow Tang (8 months)
-6" Blue Hippo Tang (6 months)
-2 firefish (8 months)
-2 ocelaris clowns (2 months)
-6 line wrass (8 months)
-3" female Blue Throat Trigger (3 weeks)
-3" male Blue Throat Trigger (4 days)

A few weeks ago, I added a female Blue Throat Triggerfish to my newest tank, which is about 8 months old (I've been reefing for 6+ years). After about a week, the large 6" Blue Hippo Tang started chasing her and acting very aggressive towards her. Yes, the Blue Hippo Tang is SUPER aggressive towards the TRIGGER fish. :drool: So after a few more weeks of this, I had a long discussion with a few local fish experts that I've known for years and I generally trust. I had the idea of adding a male Blue Throat Trigger, and my hope was that the Blue Hippo Tang would either A) be overwhelmed by the pair and decide to back off, or B) chase them both, therefore HALVING the abuse that either Trigger receives. I hoped that it wouldn't be C) the triggers realize their teeth are sharper than the Tang's and decide to team up and kill it.

After 4 days of the male being in the tank, the Blue Hippo Tang has become EVEN MORE aggressive towards the pair of Triggers.

Clearly the Blue Hippo Tang has decided that the tank is his and the Triggers are a threat and doesn't want them in the tank. I am wondering if there are any methods that will basically shift the balance of the tank, like for example; removing the Blue Hippo from the tank for a certain period of time, or moving around the live rock? My goal is to maximize the survival chances for every fish in the tank, ESPECIALLY the 2 Triggers and the Blue Hippo. The Hippo is HUGE, and he is just a beautiful fish, and I'd be heartbroken if he died, but I really love the Triggers as well, and I really want to make this work. On paper, they are all very passive fish. This should be able to work.

Any thoughts/suggestions?