A lot of "what is this?" I notice here...

flricordia

so one more shouldn't make a difference.
I am new to sps and I was told but forgot what this is. Another one of those $10 frags at the LRS this evening. Probably going to have to get rid of my ricordias to make room for all the sps frags I am getting. NOT!
Was I told millipora?

8473newestfrag_(1)-med.jpg

aquaman3680

Certainly not a milli! This is a hydnophora. They are pretty cool corals but are also one of the most aggressive sps. High light and pretty good flow are really the only requirements, fairly easy to keep!

Good luck

Matt

flricordia

Certainly not a milli! This is a hydnophora. They are pretty cool corals but are also one of the most aggressive sps. High light and pretty good flow are really the only requirements, fairly easy to keep!

Good luck

Matt
So by agressive you mean not to let it touch other corals? It doesn't have long sweepers like LPS I am sure. It is in a high flow area directly under the MH BTW and thanks for the info.

aquaman3680

Well yes, to an extent they are as aggressive as some LPS. They can put out about 1/2 in. sweepers. SO they are about as aggressive as a trumpet or something like that.

Matt

mps9506

Hydnophora will send out mesenterial filaments that will do extreme damage to nearby corals. They don't always send them out, but you can be sure anyhting within a few inches will probably feel the "wrath" of the hydnophora. I've seen these filaments extend out much farther however in frag tanks, somewhere close to 6-8 inches, I've read accounts of even farther.
Some photos I found by googling:
Wamas Photo Gallery - Hydnophora attacking staghorn - Powered by PhotoPost
Advanced Aquarist

Scroll about 3/4 the way down on this page and there are some great photos of the interaction of a hydno and acro colony.
Tank of the Month - December 2004 - Reefkeeping.com

DrHank

Mike, what happened? I never pegged you for an SPS kind of guy! It does look neat, but with rics?!