a growing upsetness

The more I think about what I'm doing, the more it sort of upsets me. I own a fish that was (most likely) taken from its natural habitat, where it has its natural place, shipped across the world, transferred to different shipping boxes and bags before arriving at the LFS where it sits in a world its never seen before. The fish sits there in a tiny glass cube. Then I buy it and put it in my own glass cube. It all seems sort of terrible to me. Even if I try my absolute best to keep a fish happy and healthy, it still went through hell to even get to the LFS (If it even makes it there...) Now that I have a job in an LFS it really depresses me to see some of the new fish come in and end up sick and dieing the next few days.

Overall, I am glad I get to try to recreate a part of the world most people never really see. I just wish we didn't have to take things from where they belong.

TerriW

I'm a newbie as of July of this year. I have recently had my first loss, 2 astrea snails, not sure why. I haven't killed a coral or fish yet. I tend to my tank daily, do water changes weekly, and accused by my boyfriend of spend more time "watching the box" than with him. I am constantly on this board, as well as many other boards and website researching about my tank and the hobby in general, to make sure my creatures are as happy and healthy as can be. Not all newbies are stupid, ignorant, uncaring and made of money (to replace all the stuff we kill). I truly care for all of the inhabitants of my tank. I have taken/appreciated vast amounts of advice and knowledge from this board and will continue to do so. Please don't judge, its just not fair.

If you are going to ask about my snails? My water is fine and tested regularly, and I don't use tap water, I mix it myself with RO water.

Terri

OneLove87