75 Gallon Reef Lighting Upgrade (MH vs T5)

Harmony Exotics

Hi everyone!

Im new to Reef Sanctuary and what better way to say hello to everyone than with a controversial question. haha

Ive been running PC on my 75 gallon reef for a year now. Ive got mostly soft corals with a FEW LPS. Now that I know more about parameters, etc...I want to upgrade my lighting to be able to house different types of sps. Acro, milli, monti, and maybe a clam or 2.

My LFS says that on a 75 gallon tank, a 4 bulb HO T5 will be enough to do this. :ponder2: My main concern is color fading. I would like to have atleast 6 t5's to have more intensity. Or better yet MH's. :fingerx:

The fixtures that have my attention are the Nova Extreme Pro 6 X 54w T5 and the MarineLand Pro HQI 24 hr fixture.

I am interested to hear everyone's thoughts on these two fixtures and if my LFS may be right about 4 tubes being sufficient enough to see growth and stunning sps color. :shades:

Clownfish518

Razorback
PREMIUM
Welcome to RS

If you want clams, then you want as much PAR as possible. If you go T5, I would want 6 bulbs, and something that has individual reflectors (IDRs); the Nova Extreme Pro approximates IDRs, but is not true IDRs.

For T5 I would look for IDRs, active cooling (fans), and six bulbs. I no longer use actinics in my T5 fixtures. I use a blue bulb, which will have the same fluorescing effect as actinics, but produce way more light and nicer colors. Something like 3 ATI Blue Plus, 1 ATI Aqua Blue Special, 1 UVL Actinic White, and 1 GE 6500 Daylight is a nice combination of bulbs. Something like that will give you tons of PAR and make your colors pop.

MH is another route - I am not familiar with the Marineland fixture. You would need two MH bulbs; I would do 250w if it were me; but you might could get away with 150w on a 75

Just my 2 cents

livebait