55 gal getting ready to set up

coppessfam

I am new to the saltwater/reef tank world. I live in Dayton, Ohio and I haven't had a fish tank for awhile and I am very excited about getting it started. A friend has a 75 gal and has supplied me with a few peices of equipment. But I have read several places not to just take the advice of one person. So I am asking for any advice I can get. Like I said I have a 55 gal tank with a stand I just finished building. The dimensions inside the base are 48"x 13 1/2"x34 1/2" tall. I have 2 Emperor 400 BIO-Wheel Powerfilters, an Amiracle sump (which dosen't seem big enough from what I am seeing on this site) and I think some missing parts and a 48" light. Somebody give me a list to compair to what my friend has told me I need. James (my friend) if you read this I am just trying to get as much info as I can.

sasquatch

Brunt of all Jokes~
PREMIUM
Hi Coppessfam, Welcome to RS! There is a world of differance between a reef tank and a fish only tank, if you could tell us which way your heading, everybody will chime in ( cover your wallet, we'll spend it all lol) its great that your looking for advice first, it can save you a lot of pain and suffering down the road. Steve

coppessfam

I am leaning toward the reef tank. (I think) I also have read that I should cut holes under the tank as to be able to see the underside of the tank. Is this something I need to do?

PhilOlsen

Has been struck by the ban stick
Welcome!