40 gallon breeder.

Okay, this will be my first saltwater aquarium. I have been keeping discus for about 6 months now and before that nothing. Except for about a year I had a small mouth bass. I'm very excited about this aquarium. I want this to be all HOB. No sump or Refugium. I would like to make this as cheap as possible as well. Here's what I was thinking for equipment. I may upgrade equipment (Lighting etc) so I can eventually turn it into a reef aquarium.

- Berlin Air Lift Protein Skimmer
- Aqua clear 70 HOB filter
- glass submersible heater (brand doesn't really matter to me)
- 40 gallon breeder aquarium ( actually 45 gallons)L 36inx W 18in x H 16 in
- Lighting will be standard fluorescent lighting which comes with the aquarium
- 25 Pounds of live sand
- 20 Pounds of live rock to start with will add about 5 pounds a month till I reach about 50 pounds

Fish list

- 3 blue or green chromis to start.
- 6 line wrasse I think it is can't quite remember but the reef safe one.
- Clown fish (not sure which type I want for sure but the most peaceful)
- As my prize fish I would like to eventually add a copper band butterfly fish
- Also what are some reef safe hermits and such that won't be ate by a copper band.
- any advice on what fish to keep would be great I am trying to make this a very peaceful community.

any advice on the equipment and fish would be greatly appreciated.

Charley

novanosis

Hello and Welcome! :hallo:

I have a 40 breeder myself, and will be watching your progression.

Now the only thing I can offer you is this; The aqua Clear should only carry filter floss and carbon media, don't let that thing become a nitrate factory, clean it every two weeks.

Oh and just dont add any fish until the cycle is complete. Please dont use a fish to cycle the tank.

This is FOWLR correct? Not sure about butterflies.. Someone might will let you know.

Seems you will have everything you need.