10 gallon nano questions

bookwyrm

Hi everyone, I'm new, so let me apologize in advance if I ask any obvious questions. I posted this on another reef forum, but no one will respond to me, so I'm looking for a more newbie friendly place. I have a lot of experience with high tech freshwater planted aquariums, but am interested in branching out into reef tanks. I know that they say it's better to start with a larger aquarium, but I never like to go the easy way, and I have a 10 gallon sitting around. Cost wise, it's possible for me to turn this into a reef tank, but turning one of my larger tanks into one isn't going to happen at this point. I've been doing a lot of research, and I think I can pull this off, but I want to run my plan past some experienced people and see what they think. I haven't set anything up yet, this is just my planned setup.

Standard 10 gallon tank 20x10x12
Lighting to be determined
10-15 lbs of live sand
10 lbs live rock
Aquaclear 70 or 110 converted to refugium
Heater hopefully small enough to fit in the AC
RO/DI water will be used

I have two main questions at this point. I'd like to mostly focus on soft corals, and maybe some LPS. This brings me to the lighting question, since I have a few options, and I'm not sure which one would be the best.

Option 1: My LFS sells a 20" compact flourescent fixture that is 2x36 watts. It looks very similar to a Coralife fixture to me, but it's not labeled as one. Pros: It's the right size for the tank, if we go by the WPG rule (I know it's inaccurate, but it's the best I have to work with ATM) then I have a good mid range at 7.2 WPG. It's also only $100, and I could get it locally. Cons: My bulb selection would basically be limited to 10K and whatever the particular bulb manufacturer thinks is "actinic." Also, I suspect it might get hot, as I've used CFL fixtures before.