HELP! In need of some marine education :)

Kelly1023

Hello everyone! :)

I have never joined a forum like this before. I am honestly a bit embarrassed to put my utter lack of knowledge on display. I have had a freshwater aquarium for years and I have toyed with the idea of a saltwater tank for quite a while.
I currently have a 36-gallon aquarium. I have about 27 lbs of live rock in it. It has been running for about 3 weeks. I am running a penguin 200 biofilter, a powerhead on a low setting, and a heater. The temperature is steady at 80 degrees. I am using the light included with the aquarium and I know I need much better lighting. I have ordered 2 more led lamps one daylight and the other is called color max. I currently have Carib Sea Arag Alive substrate (20 lbs). I am thinking about adding live sand as well but I don't know what kind.

I have an API saltwater master test kit and my readings are as follows:
7.9 Ph
4ppm Ammonia
Trites and Trates 0ppm
Specific gravity 1.023

I had some hitchhikers on a few of my live rocks (bristle worms and some tiny little things that look like shrimp). When I researched it I read a lot about how good they were for the tank. I was wondering if or when I should introduce some more little organisms (pods and phytos?) and maybe one of the 'cleaner crew' packs you can purchase. I really want to make sure all my tank inhabitants are healthy and happy. For the cleaner pack, I was considering hermit crabs, snails, and a brittle sea star maybe...
Any thoughts, ideas, or advice are welcome and greatly appreciated.

nanoreefing4fun

RS STAFF
:rbwwelc:to RS ! Once your tank is "cycled" you can add your cuc (clean up crew) I like snails... I would wait on the star... until you tank is 6 months old... or he may starve... sounds like you have some pods... which is good (your tiny little things that look like shrimp) I guess... I don't think you would need to add any "live sand" your Carib Sea Arag Alive substrate will be just fine...