Recent content by Mattfish

1. M

PAR/Lux and Kelvin/Color Temp Meters

Anyone have any recommendations and sources for a PAR/Lux meter and also for a Kelvin/Color Temp meter? Trying to figure out just how much light I have and what temp it is, and how I can adjust it. We have a Solaris G-Series, and presumably, it should be 20K Kelvin at full settings, but if I...
  2. M

Clams and Nassarius Problems....

Good idea! Makes sense. I know we all talk about a cleanup crew, but to be honest, every snail I've seen is pretty lazy - they sure don't clean the algae so far as I can tell, and the bad outweighs the good if they're going to eat my clams. And besides, for sandsifting, I have a sandsifting...
  3. M

Solaris Owners!

I'm sensing a long discussion on this! And after figuring out the best color temp, then the question is how to get the Solaris set for it.....
  4. M

Solaris Owners!

Just a thought - and I'm no expert here, but if the I-Series is equivalent to a 400W MH, it would seem that the power of the light is pretty strong. Comparing my 250W equivalent G-Series to a 400W equivalent I-Series, you're putting a lot more light on your tank that we are on ours. Could be...
  5. M

Clams and Nassarius Problems....

We've lost two clams - a derasa and a crocea in the past week and a half due to Nassarious snails eating them from the bottom up. Strangest thing - we've never had this problem before. They seem to decide to swarm on an otherwise perfectly healthy clam, eat them from the open spot at the...
  6. M

Solaris Owners!

I missed the pic of the SuperSkimmer, but that's a helluva big skimmer..... I'll have to wait for some more pics - but does that place ship, and did I miss the url for their website?
  7. M

Solaris Owners!