Can't seem to shake this HA problem... Experts enter

Lee

I've been battling Hair Algae for a couple years now across two separate tanks. I have tried virtually everything that has been suggested to me and I'm just stumped.

Every time I post a thread like this, I get lots of generic answers about doing water changes, skimming, using RO water, feeding less, etc. I've been through most of the conventional suggestions, so I'm listing every piece of relevant information possible below, so please read through the whole post before spending a bunch of time on a response that might not apply.

I'm about 8 years into the saltwater aquarium hobby, and I work in an industry where water chemistry is integral to our business, so I consider myself to be advanced. Not as advanced as many/most of you here perhaps, but I've got a lot of knowledge and experience in this area.

Here is what I have, the current tank is about 20 months old:

tanks:
-125g display, mostly FOWLER (+1 coral, 1 anemone)
-29 gallon sump w/skimmer and return portion
-20 gallon refugium w/DSB, LR, small chunk of Cheato and some Culerpa strands

DT Livestock:
-150-200 lbs of LR
-Blue Hippo Tang, Yellow Tang, Snowflake Eel, Occelaris Clown, 6-line Wrasse, Coral Beauty Angel, Anemone, plate coral
-15 Turbo snails, ~100 misc snails
-thin (>1") sandbed

Feeding schedule:
-feedings every-other-day, once.
-variety of frozen cubes, cyclopeeze
-feed either 1/2 or 1 full cube, every other day

Salt & water changes:
-Instant Ocean Reef Crystals, mixed to 1.025
-30 gallon (20%) water changes approximately every 14-21 days

Other additives:
-Kent Purple Tech (since 8/2013)
-Kent dKH buffer (since 11/2013)
-occasional marine algecide treatments
-occasional Chemiclean treatments

DT Lights:
-84 3 watt Philips Luxeon LED lights
-42 Neutral White, 42 Royal Blue
-Lights run 6:30pm - 2:00am (7.5 hours/day)

Fuge Lights:
-Single incandescent 60watt bulb
-Runs approx 10 hours/day opposite DT lights

Equipment: