Hello From Greece

ludachris

Hello everybody how are you?

My name is Xristos (Chris) from Athens, Greece and I’m new to the saltwater aquarium hobby. In the past I had a planted freshwater aquarium with focus on the plants.

I would like to setup a reef aquarium but as I research I realize that it is not that easy and quite different compared to a freshwater system.

Since this is my first saltwater attempt my plan is the following: I will start with a 350L (92 US Gallon) aquarium with live rock, live sand, protein skimmer and sump. Gradually I will add very few reef safe fish and continue form there. If I can keep up with all the demands of a saltwater aquarium I will then add some “easy” corals and invertebrates.

My current focus is on the aquarium itself, the sump and the protein skimmer.
The aquarium will be custom built with an overflow for the sump.
As far as the sump goes I know that bigger is better as long it is easy to maintain.

Protein skimmer: Euro-reef, life-reef or Tunze. Since I live in Europe I plan to buy a Tunze protein skimmer since I can find the skimmer and spare parts nearly everywhere. I would prefer something from Euro-reef or Life-reef but I’m worried what happens if something goes wrong or something fails with the skimmer….? By the time a spare part arrives by mail here I think it will be too late for my aquarium. On the other hand with the Tunze I can just run to the LFS.

Any suggestions, comments and/or recommendations will be greatly appreciated!

Warnberg

Hello and welcome.

Best thing I can tell you to do is read, read and read some more.... find a local fish store that you trust and that carries marine fish and supplies, ask them lots of questions. There is also a section here on this forum with some basic info.