Signs of a dying Anemone... Help please.

Pac2003

How long does an Anemone usually take to settle after a house move? I have had my set up since Saturday night and the Anemone seemed fine through Sunday but started to move right to the back of the tank from Monday onwards. This is probably normal as Anemones move around but since Monday its started to get slight brown tinges round the tips and around its body. The tips almost seem to be wilting slightly aswell.

I'm very new to anything Marine and tried feeding it a small dead fish yesterday. After a long attempt I finally managed to hold it until it was slightly in the Anemones mouth. I took my arm from the tank and stood back but my b*stard clown fish decided he liked the look of the dead fish and stole in from the Anemones mouth. Since then I havent been able to get near it to try and feed as its hiding right behind the back rocks at the bottom.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

What kind of Ane. is it? how old is ur tank, whats ur water parementers, what kind of lighting? what kind of dead fish? 3 is to much at once,i feed my lta 2 times a week with silverslides or peices of shrimp and my clarkii will feed it between.

anenome reply

Yeah i only feed every wednesday. I rotate feeding shrimp pellets to using squid cube. But my anenomes love the pellets. Do mess with him if your tanks parameters are ok he will find a place he likes. Member they love light but soft light dont make it so intense it shocks it to death!! :( Also make sure you dont have to much circulation or a pump pounding it. Just enough to keep them waving and detritus off them. Besides that good tank maintenace and lighting should be fine!
Good luck!
Shawn

P.S. If it dies and turns to mush make sure you get it out nothing is worse than an anenome that has died and melted and polluted a nice tank! :(

Gina

RS STAFF