Please Help!!!!

A couple days ago I bought a new bubble tip anemone and three beautiful true perculas. They hosted the anemone right away (though I must say the fought over it a bit). This morning I woke up to a tank without an anemone. Instead I found bits and pieces of anemone throughout the tank. The clown fish are getting along better, but I want to know how he died/got ripped to pieces and how I can prevent it from happening again. All I have in my "new" tank is 3 green chromis, 3 true percula clown fish, 11 red mexican hermits, and 4 astrea snails. The only equipment that could have ripped him apart was my maxi jet circulator pump (maxi jet 900 pro). Please help!!!! I don't want to kill anymore anemones and I thought I had a safe tank.

Thank you,
Eric and Dana

JGard911

I am new to this myself, but I think I have read that 3 clown fish in a 90 gallon tank is asking for trouble. Maybe the third wheel clown fish got mad and started throwing anemone dishes? :cursin:

sasquatch

Brunt of all Jokes~
PREMIUM
unless the clowns are juveniles (very small) threes a crowd, if they are older you could have 2 males or 2 females, there will be a fight and somebody gonna get hurt reaaal bad lol, yes they have been known to shred anems usually the anem is too small for them but if the three wanted in it Id think they pulled it apart

DaveK

You have several issues here. One, pointed out by others, is the three clowns in the tank. The other issue is the anemone getting torn to pieces. I'd guess that it had a run in with one of the circulation pumps you have in the system. Most likely it was moving around the tank looking for a better spot. To prevent a crash, you'll need to get the pieces out of the tank. Most likely, you'll also need to make some major water changes, and filter the water with carbon.