Hello

Metal Militia

I'm new to this whole reef aquarium thing. I currently have a 55 gallon freshwater aquarium that has been up and running for a year. I'm here because I would like to learn about a having a reef aquarium aswell as both the pros and cons. I'm just a teenager with two expensive hobbies, drums and fish. I plan on buying a large aquarium when i can afford it, somewhere between a 250-500 gallon tank. I think big...haha. Oh yea, as for my set up, it's a glass 55 gallon, with emperor biowheel, uv sterilizer, 2 corner filters, various plants aswell as a fairly large piece of driftwood and a 2 1/2 in sand substrate. For my fish, I have 3 discus- 1 golden pidgeon blood - 1 golden dragon, 1-blue/red snakeskin type, an elephantnose, a silver angel, clown loach, golden gourami, and school of 10 neon tetras.(still more to come) I had a freshwater stingray but unfortunately it passed on a few days ago. It was not something wrong with my setup or water quality, the store keeper was quite impressed actually. He said it just happens to stingrays, they seem fine one minute and they're dead the next. Anyway just thought I'd introduce myself.

-Joe from Brooklyn, NY

Gina

RS STAFF
:hallo: Joe and Welcome! Welcome to the world of reefing!!
Your freshwater sounds interesting, I would love to see some pics of it if you could post some!

Have you given any thought as to what type of reef you would like to set up? Don't be afraid to ask any question you may have. We are a friendly group here and love our new members!

Rougiem

Ichthy Inquisitor
PREMIUM
Welcome to RS Joe!

You have come to the right pace. Ask away!

I use to do freshwater but am all salt now. Elephantnoses are really interesting fish though! How long have you had yours?

Cheers!

Metal Militia