Hello new to SW, Can i drill temperd glass ?

NYCfishguy

Hello everyone, I have been caring for FW fish for many years. I am slowly evolving into SW. I have a RSM 130 D thats sits dry because i thought i was moving when i bought it and now a year later it still sits dry. It will eventually get filled and will be my mini reef tank. My question today however is about my 54 gallon corner aquarium. I purchased this tank 10 years ago as a FW community with the thought of evolving into SW. I have decided to donate the messy FW convicts and transform it into a FOWLR set up. Filtration is my major issue. When i purchased this set up i bought as much equipment as i could that could be used for both FW and SW setups. I am currently running the ehiem 2227 wet/dry canister for biological only, and a magnum 350 for mechanical /chemical. I would like to use what i have for my FOWLR setup however i read that canister filters are suddenly not good for healthy water? I also have a new Rena XL canister that i was going to replace the noisey magnum with , and then i thought maybe i should drill it and get a sump setup. Here is the problem, the bottom panel has a sticker that reads " tempered glass do not drill " . My local fish store says it will fracture if drilled. Because a corner tank has barely enough clearence from the wall i can't hang anything off the back. I like the "clean look " of a sump set up but not sure if its safe. So would you A) run it with the ehiem wet/dry canister and the rena xl canister or B) attempt to drill the tempered glass to run a sump. ? Please dont say buy a new tank, this is one of five and thats my limit. Thanks...

theplantman

Tempered glass is notorious for shattering when drilled. Don't try it. If you don't want to buy a new tank, then pull it away from the wall a couple inches for an overflow. You could always hide the equipment by running some wood trim up the side and create a faux built in look.

DaveK