Draco's Dwarf Seahorse Journal

Draco

I am in the planning stages of owning a pair of Dwarf Seahorses. It's going to be a while before I actually get a pair. There will be no other life, aside from CUC in the tank.

I am starting a log of sorts. hope it's the right place? I want to make sure I don't make any mistakes! After reading the sticky and care sheet posted within the article, I feel comfortable. Except for the food making.. that makes me a little nervous as I am new to that, lol. I am sure I will get the hang of it quickly!

I am a bit confused on what's the best size tank to get for dwarfs. Some say 3-5 gals, others say 10+ gal. I was looking at PetCo's cube with the chambers in the back, which is 3.7 gallons.. anyone think that's too small? I am thinking a cube with chambers would be best as its less flow and has more vertical swimming room. Or should I forget the chambers and put in a sponge filter or two?

Would planted macro's do OK in bare bottoms? I am thinking of doing mainly macro/planted type of tank as I don't want it to look like a reef tank. If I need sand, I would go dark to pop the horses out a bit more.

I am not sure what macros to get yet.. there's so many to choose from! If anyone has suggestions on what would the horses like best, please do share!

I look forward to any advice you guys have to share!

DaveK

Be sure to read up on dwarf seahorses, especially the feeding requirements, before you get them. They almost always require live food, and keeping up with this can be a big job.

You might want to consider the larger seahorses since captive raised ones will take frozen food. You'll also see them better.

With seahorses you kind of have to balance the tank size. On one hand, a larger tank means more stable water conditions. On the other, a smaller tank means the seahorses don't have to go a long way to chase down food.

I would tend to opt for the larger tank, about 10 gal or so, but the smaller tanks are ok.