Dosing iron

framerguy

I have been studying about dosing Iron in my tank. According to The “How To” Guide to Reef Aquarium Chemistry for Beginners Part 2: What Chemicals Must be Supplemented by Randy Holmes-Farley - Reefkeeping.com adding iron to a tank with lots of macro algaes can be beneficial. In other articles it stated that mangroves benefit from it as well. Also in the articles it states that trying to decide how much to dose is inconsequential because it doesn't matter how much you dose, the extra doesn't harm anything, which makes testing not necessary but something I would probably like to do anyway. My questions are..
1:is anyone here dosing?
2:how much?
3:what source of iron are you using?
4:how big is your tank?
5:what benefits have you noticed?

Thanks to any that respond.

Dentoid

Smile Maker
PREMIUM
Greg, as you know I have been doing the Balling method for a couple of months. One of the components is a heavy metal supplement that contains iron. Take a look. It's a very small dose added to the main Balling solution that is dosed daily. So far I have not noticed any changes in my tank for the better or worse, just better stability of chemistry.

Luukosian

As far as the extra not harming anything im not sure I believe that. I used to dose iron in a couple of my freshwater planted tanks and have direct experience that too much will cause an algae bloom....at least in freshwater. I used to dose a iron suppliment seperate but now i just use what is included in the trace mix I use because I never noticed increased growth/health. But like I said thats freshwater so I guess im just rambling off topic lol.

framerguy

I have no direct experience dosing Iron. The articles I have read say that if you are having a diatom bloom and you dose Iron, one of two things may happen. Either the macro algaes will be stimulated to grow and will out compete the diatoms and other micro algae for nutrients, or the micro algaes will get worse.