B-ionic minimun dose OK?

Aquaphile

I've been dosing B-ionic at the minimum/slightly higher for a couple months now. This is first time i've tried a two part dosing system and I'm only using Bionic because it was recommended by the LFS while i was searching for the buffer that i used to use in my previous set up about 5 years ago to buffer the PH. I've read good reviews so i have no reason to doubt its success and everything is growing well.. I have a few SPS, in the tank, two small frags of Monti cap, a pink birdsnest, and some orange digitata. None of them huge by any means. My question is, i dont yet have my head around the calcium/alk testing relationship and dont have a kit yet. My question is, is it safe for me to continue to dose the min 10ml of each? my tank is a 30 cube and 20 sump thats a about half full. i didnt figure rock because i didnt think it would be bad to dose a little more. Am i inching towards disaster without monitoring the params?, or will it be ok for a while until i get a test kit and an understanding of it?

DaveK

When ever you are dosing something you should monitor the parameters. You need not do it all the time, but often enough to know where your tank is, maybe once a month or so.

If you don't you run the risk of a parameter running way out of range, high or low, and causing a real problem.

In my opinion, if you don't monitor it, you shouldn't dose it.

reefer gladness

If you're keeping SPS corals you really should understand the chemistry and have quality test kits like Salifert on hand. The chemistry isn't difficult to understand at all. Alk must be kept stable (emphasis on stable) between 8-11 dKH, calcium between 400-450 and magnesium approximately 3x whatever calcium is at. In other words if calcium is at 440ppm then mag should be around 1320ppm. If you don't maintain magnesium it will be more difficult to maintain levels of alk and calcium.