AC Outlet Timers & tank automation.

Squatch XXL

I have been looking at "timers" for controlling a pair of powerheads. I have found that marineland brand makes a really nice surge strip with built in....But being realistic, I believe that this product can be had much much cheaper...probably from a home improvement place and with different branding.

I am looking for outlet control at 5 min on/off (Minute intervals would be great as well), and unlimited on/off cycles. Realistically, I will run for a hour or more. Individual units with a single outlet should work if they have a digital timer that is synchronized within a few moments.

I have been using analog timers for a few decades, and I do love the ease of use....I notice that they get off time....Some more than others. Is there a reason for this?

I had a small 160 gph powerhead on a timer, as well as 2 sets of lights. After more than a year, each of my light timers are about an hour off, but are identical......The powerhead was off by 10 hours in a few weeks. It does this to every timer I have used including new ones. I am guessing that the effort required to click on and off is creating drag on the timer....My powerhead was on every other click around the wheel daytime, and twice during the night for short spells. 10 hours off makes that not work for me.

Certainly a reef controller would fix every issue I have, but I am too cheap. I have looked into DIY Linux and PC software, but it is very limited and somewhat useless to me. I have sooooo many pc parts floating around my place, it would be nothing for me to put together some sort of franken-puter. There is just enough info and partial software that something could be had, but requires quite a learning curve for software and hardware. I am more interested in "Here is my software, buy all the hardware here". Pc/linux based suit me more than a custom specific reef-controller...but only because of price.